Bugs list what I've found

Anything related to Nightly builds.
Post Reply
God
Server Pro
Posts: 853
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:10 am

Bugs list what I've found

Post by God » Fri Aug 24, 2007 10:46 am

!setlevel NAME 3

setlevel error: LEVEL ambiguous.

I don't know what that means nor why it's happening...

Sending private messages from the chat box (/m NAME MESSAGE) returns '/m NAME MESSAGE error: PLAYER_FILTER MESSAGE...'.
» The root of all life's problems is 2.55 :mrgreen:

User avatar
Mr.Mxyzptlk
Jaymod Developer
Posts: 378
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 7:06 pm

Re: Bugs list what I've found

Post by Mr.Mxyzptlk » Fri Aug 24, 2007 11:13 am

God wrote:!setlevel NAME 3

setlevel error: LEVEL ambiguous.

I don't know what that means nor why it's happening...

Sending private messages from the chat box (/m NAME MESSAGE) returns '/m NAME MESSAGE error: PLAYER_FILTER MESSAGE...'.
1. The process for finding levels is currently to search first for level by name, then if no match is found, try number. What's probably happening is you have more than one level with the number 3 in it's name which is why it becomes ambiguous. I'll think about reversing it so numbers are checked first... but for now you have your reason :)

2. /m only works from console.... not from chat boxes.
--Mr.Mxyzptlk

User avatar
jaybird
Jaymod Developer
Posts: 2733
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2005 12:27 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX
Contact:

Post by jaybird » Fri Aug 24, 2007 12:11 pm

You shouldn't use the /m command anymore. This is why I made the private message window. Easier, and more consistent.

User avatar
[FL]Blindman
Server Pro
Posts: 864
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 3:07 pm
Location: Champlain Valley

Post by [FL]Blindman » Fri Aug 24, 2007 12:26 pm

speaking for myself, I rarely use the window because a lot of the time i have the console down.
Image
Image

God
Server Pro
Posts: 853
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:10 am

Post by God » Fri Aug 24, 2007 3:15 pm

I don't use it from the chat box either, but some of the players do, and they keep complaining to me, as it used to work in the old versions of Jaymod.

I'll just tell them they're meant to use the PM window :)

And thanks Mr.Mx, I'll keep that in mind, didn't know it searched via name!!!
» The root of all life's problems is 2.55 :mrgreen:

User avatar
==Troy==
Rambo Medic
Posts: 272
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 1:13 pm

Post by ==Troy== » Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:42 pm

Always use console for any chatting. and /m name text is very-very handy.

User avatar
stealth
Rambo Medic
Posts: 375
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2006 1:17 pm
Location: Chair

Post by stealth » Fri Aug 24, 2007 5:16 pm

==Troy== wrote:Always use console for any chatting. and /m name text is very-very handy.
Roger that

now thinking about it I only use the console, for everything, can never find what I'm looking for in the menus, so I learnt to use the console and pls its a lot faster,...
/quit
/cg_drawgun 0
/m name nessage
/... you get what I mean
:D

STYL3N
General
Posts: 434
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 8:07 am
Location: LONDON-UK
Contact:

Post by STYL3N » Fri Aug 24, 2007 6:35 pm

For some reason I prefer not to use console for pming.
especially when having a PM convo it fills up my console command history so if i'm changing any cvars, client or server I have to keep typing them.

So it helps to be able to pm through the chat menu.

I'd have my console open but i'd close out of it and open the chat window to PM.

I dont use the pm windows simply because it it needs another key which I dont have.
STYLEN

--BC Clan Leader--
http://www.bcclan.com

2HottY
Server n00b
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 3:25 pm

Re: Bugs list what I've found

Post by 2HottY » Mon Apr 27, 2009 3:33 pm

so, sorry for sounding noobie, but how do u open this pm window?
because some of my players cant pm
and i agree console is alot quicker

User avatar
[FL]Blindman
Server Pro
Posts: 864
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 3:07 pm
Location: Champlain Valley

Re: Bugs list what I've found

Post by [FL]Blindman » Mon Apr 27, 2009 7:34 pm

esc>jaymod > misc? i think, then bind a key to it.
Image
Image

hellreturn
Spawn Camper
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2008 8:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Bugs list what I've found

Post by hellreturn » Wed Apr 29, 2009 8:54 pm

[FL]Blindman wrote:esc>jaymod > misc? i think, then bind a key to it.
Whats the difference actually in using /m and binded key?

User avatar
[FL]Blindman
Server Pro
Posts: 864
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 3:07 pm
Location: Champlain Valley

Re: Bugs list what I've found

Post by [FL]Blindman » Thu Apr 30, 2009 2:07 am

none, but hes asking how to do it without the console.
Image
Image

Post Reply