bug in 20080125-2.1.8

Anything related to Nightly builds.
User avatar
[FL]Blindman
Server Pro
Posts: 864
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 3:07 pm
Location: Champlain Valley

Post by [FL]Blindman » Thu Feb 21, 2008 7:41 am

Wht hes saying is hes nowhere near the arty, and its like someone did !shake. IMHO not a bug, but I do get that occasionally. I didnt really notice it I think til a 218 nightly, none of my players said boo about it though.
Image
Image

User avatar
riflerat
Arty Whore
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 7:12 am
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Post by riflerat » Wed Feb 27, 2008 2:25 am

Hmm we also noticed that shake problem, but it is not so sensitive because game can keep going :)
but here is what I experienced (yes on goldrush and industry2 is more than annoying :( ):

IRL if a heavy weight or e.g. a bomb bangs in the ground it could say 'shake' heavily its close environment.
The level of this 'shake' is higher in the centrum of the bang and it decreases with distance.
Something like this:

Code: Select all

                ##
                ##
               ####
            #########
    ########################
################################
But what we are talking about in the game is a bit strange it is similar to this graph:

Code: Select all

                ##
#               ##             #
##             ####           ##
###         #########        ###
################################
################################
So as you see it got stronger again with distance, and it is true that if arty is going in the tank depot, sometimes it is hard to jump through the first tank barrier because of that shake. I don't know if it is jaymod related only, but it is a fact that I am realized it first with jaymod, as I remember with the first 2.1.8 nightly in last september (or october can't remember)

Anyway, I can live with it :D
Image

ETc|***Jay***
Panzer n00b
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 6:44 pm

Post by ETc|***Jay*** » Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:59 am

i wait for fixed Version 8)

and the command !shake jay dont work :)

LZ!Hammer
Server n00b
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 6:10 pm
Contact:

Post by LZ!Hammer » Wed Jun 04, 2008 6:56 pm

Iam also having the problem and its with 2.1.8 not with 2.1.7 When there is arty on goldrush it shakes a players like your use the shake command on them. Its not he same as before at all the distance it shakes the players 5 or 6 times farther away and is just like shake command.

God
Server Pro
Posts: 853
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:10 am

Post by God » Thu Jun 05, 2008 4:19 am

It's not a bug. Even if it was, it's a 4 month old bug which would have been fixed by now, but it's not.
» The root of all life's problems is 2.55 :mrgreen:

LZ!Hammer
Server n00b
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 6:10 pm
Contact:

Post by LZ!Hammer » Thu Jun 05, 2008 7:18 pm

[quote="God"]It's not a bug. Even if it was, it's a 4 month old bug which would have been fixed by now, but it's not.[/quote]
Not sure what you mean not a bug, If its ment to be its alittle much. Just want to let jay no that its a problem with 2.1.8 only 2.1.7 dosen't have it.

user_z0
Server n00b
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 7:00 pm

Re: bug in 20080125-2.1.8

Post by user_z0 » Sun May 03, 2009 7:19 pm

*bump

so, are there any news about this. i can tell its really anyoing. today i played at fa server, all went fine, until venice came up. whenever there was arty it shaked me like hell, it is so annoying. and dont call me a whiner, its totally unplayable. i have realized this bug earlier, but since some dont have it, they thought i was some kind of stupid or sth. so i began analyzing it a bit more and came to the conclusion that it is a bug due to the fact that arty affects you different from the same distance, depending on where your position in the map is. speaking of specific maplocations where the arty hits you harder from distance. i thought of maybe my graphics card the reason, i have ati one. jaymod 2.17 works fine, no problems. so if there is anybody of the coders here at jaymod-forum, i would be really interested in what they think this can cause. probably release a new version of jaymod ?

hellreturn
Spawn Camper
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2008 8:17 pm
Contact:

Re: bug in 20080125-2.1.8

Post by hellreturn » Thu May 07, 2009 4:23 pm

user_z0 wrote:*bump

so, are there any news about this. i can tell its really anyoing. today i played at fa server, all went fine, until venice came up. whenever there was arty it shaked me like hell, it is so annoying. and dont call me a whiner, its totally unplayable.
I agree with you and it needs to be fixed and only Jaybird can fix it.

Also, !slap has same issue like !splat in 2.1.7

If you don't specify name it slaps all player but it doesn't crash server like in 2.1.7.

Post Reply