crash server

Post any bugs you may find here.
Kill4Fun
Server n00b
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 11:05 am

crash server

Post by Kill4Fun » Thu Feb 14, 2008 5:34 pm

-----------------------
----- Server Shutdown -----
Sending heartbeat to etmaster.idsoftware.com
==== ShutdownGame ====
ShutdownGame:
------------------------------------------------------------
Writing: C:\Program Files\Wolfenstein - Enemy Territory/jaymod/level.db, 10 levels (0ms)
Writing: C:\Program Files\Wolfenstein - Enemy Territory/jaymod/user.db, 2425 users (32ms)
Writing: C:\Program Files\Wolfenstein - Enemy Territory/jaymod/map.db, 26 maps (0ms)
---------------------------
Z_Malloc: failed on allocation of 32832 bytes from the main zone

help guys :)

God
Server Pro
Posts: 853
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:10 am

Post by God » Thu Feb 14, 2008 5:54 pm

When did this happen? What was the situation? Just a random crash? Log before/after? ET Version? Jaymod Version? com_hunkmegs?
» The root of all life's problems is 2.55 :mrgreen:

User avatar
jaybird
Jaymod Developer
Posts: 2733
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2005 12:27 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX
Contact:

Post by jaybird » Thu Feb 14, 2008 6:55 pm

+set com_hunkmegs 128

workerholic
Server n00b
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 1:10 pm

Post by workerholic » Mon Sep 08, 2008 1:13 pm

Ive the same problem with et 2.50, but I already use this settings: +set com_hunkmegs 128
Do you have an other idea for this problem?

regards

worker

God
Server Pro
Posts: 853
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:10 am

Post by God » Mon Sep 08, 2008 3:34 pm

+set com_hunkmegs 256
» The root of all life's problems is 2.55 :mrgreen:

(1944)ReapeR
Server n00b
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 5:35 pm

Post by (1944)ReapeR » Tue Sep 09, 2008 5:56 pm

What is the maximum value hunkmegs can be set to? Someone told me that it should be set to 1/4 of your total RAM... I have 2GB RAM so should I use com_hunkmegs 512 ?

User avatar
Zeus
Moderator
Posts: 1209
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 3:29 pm
Location: Buffalo NY
Contact:

Post by Zeus » Tue Sep 09, 2008 7:03 pm

256 is it.

God
Server Pro
Posts: 853
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:10 am

Post by God » Wed Sep 10, 2008 1:59 am

I still get hunk allocation errors with it set to 512 so I use 1024, I don't think there is a limit is there.
» The root of all life's problems is 2.55 :mrgreen:

User avatar
Zeus
Moderator
Posts: 1209
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 3:29 pm
Location: Buffalo NY
Contact:

Post by Zeus » Wed Sep 10, 2008 5:22 pm

Not sure what maps or things you guys are doing, but I have played ET since day 1 using 128 and never ever had any errors or issues.

Actually awhile ago ( real early days of ET ) , it was stated 192 was a max ............... Jay knows the engine better than most of us, so I am sure he can say for sure.

User avatar
undead3
Arty Whore
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 3:14 am

Post by undead3 » Thu Sep 11, 2008 7:29 pm

for a dedicated server mostly 64 works well but if getting errors than 128 is enough as it doesn't actually run the graphics its just the console which runs
for client 1/4 th of your ram is good choice
Image
Image

M!ss fl0w3r Z0n3 admin
http://missflowerzone.co.nr/

Gobl!N

workerholic
Server n00b
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 1:10 pm

Post by workerholic » Mon Sep 15, 2008 10:29 am

okay if only one question and i get over ten different answers.
i have played ET since day 1 too and i have use all kind of changes. 64mb 128mb 256mb and with all settings i have the same problem. after a while the server crashes. sometimes after 12 hours and sometimes after 2days. and i dont know why. yes, i`m using the actually jaymod and some customer-maps

greats

worker

User avatar
jaybird
Jaymod Developer
Posts: 2733
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2005 12:27 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX
Contact:

Post by jaybird » Mon Sep 15, 2008 11:32 am

The logs will tell you why it "crashed". Most of the time it is not a "crash", but an error. If there is no indication in the last couple of lines in the console log, chances are it did actually "crash", which is when the program itself encounters an error in execution and you can do nothing about it. If you're using a version that is not 2.60b, you are completely open to any person on the internet crashing your server at will.

User avatar
Zeus
Moderator
Posts: 1209
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 3:29 pm
Location: Buffalo NY
Contact:

Post by Zeus » Mon Sep 15, 2008 5:54 pm

workerholic wrote:Ive the same problem with et 2.50,
worker
2.50 as Jay said ANYONE can crash your server at will.

Upgrade or live with the crashes and dont piss anyone off...........

maxping
Server n00b
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 8:35 pm

Re: crash server

Post by maxping » Mon Nov 17, 2008 6:54 pm

there are several patches for this game....and there is one that fixes a major crash issue on 2.5 and the others take you to 2.6 version for lots more fixes.... :D look hard enuff and you can find the first one :evil:

Adikus
Server n00b
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 6:12 am

Re: crash server

Post by Adikus » Sun Jun 14, 2009 6:19 am

I have 4 GB Ram. I must say +set com_hunkmegs 256??

Post Reply