mapscripts - how to add health/ammo cabinets?

Any questions regarding getting Jaymod running.
Post Reply
MeatHead
General
Posts: 524
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 12:34 am

mapscripts - how to add health/ammo cabinets?

Post by MeatHead » Fri Mar 03, 2006 7:24 am

anyone know? mine explaining?

User avatar
jaybird
Jaymod Developer
Posts: 2733
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2005 12:27 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX
Contact:

Post by jaybird » Fri Mar 03, 2006 9:08 am

This may or may not be able to be done, don't know. You probably need mapping experience to get this one accomplished.

User avatar
Chester
Jaymod Developer
Posts: 985
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2005 7:52 pm
Location: Above the 49th Parallel.
Contact:

Post by Chester » Fri Mar 03, 2006 3:55 pm

Definetly need to have some experience in mapping. Not only that, but you need to know the coordinates you wish to place these so called ammo/health cabinets. ie. Usually require the *.map file to know these locations.

Or...you could just do it by trial and error and hope the whole thing doesnt decide to crash on you. Start at origin and hope you'll be able to see it.
Live Jaymod Help: click here (java)
Image

doncottone
Server n00b
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 2:02 pm

Post by doncottone » Tue Mar 07, 2006 10:24 am

There's a guide on the ETPro forums:

http://bani.anime.net/banimod/forums/vi ... php?t=3328

It has an example for ammo cabinets on page 3.

User avatar
Chester
Jaymod Developer
Posts: 985
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2005 7:52 pm
Location: Above the 49th Parallel.
Contact:

Post by Chester » Tue Mar 07, 2006 6:04 pm

Health cabinets are exactly the same as ammo cabinets. So once you get one working, the other is just changing the model and the function.

ie.

Code: Select all

         model "models/mapobjects/supplystands/stand_health.md3" 

         classname "trigger_health" 
Now, the best way to do this is to find out a starting point to place it at. You can usually get these points from inside the mapscripts. Just find one component that already has an origin and then slowly offset your inputed whatever from there. You can turn comand posts into many things as well. Amazingly, all this stuff you already have, you just have to know where to look. All your models are in the PK0.pk3 file.

If only I had time and my computer, I could just give you my premade models for all of this (including tanks, goldcrates, etc.). Maybe this summer (in 1 month).
Live Jaymod Help: click here (java)
Image

{ST}(oYo)
Rambo Medic
Posts: 268
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 6:07 pm

Post by {ST}(oYo) » Wed Feb 14, 2007 5:06 am

Any new ways to find an orgin for a map you dont have the .map file for?

Trying to make Frostbite Hold the ammo script

Allies def spawn CP
Axis Def spawn near objective
a team_WOLF_checkpoint that counts score in teh ammo room
spawntimes 1 :P

User avatar
stealth
Rambo Medic
Posts: 375
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2006 1:17 pm
Location: Chair

Post by stealth » Wed Feb 14, 2007 8:11 am

ask the person that made the map?
There is a way to get a bsp file back to map, but then data is lost i've heard

{ST}(oYo)
Rambo Medic
Posts: 268
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 6:07 pm

Post by {ST}(oYo) » Wed Feb 14, 2007 1:09 pm

Got an answer to anybody who cares. /viewpos gives you your current x y z coordinates.

pokeybit
Panzer n00b
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 12:35 pm

Post by pokeybit » Sun Feb 18, 2007 9:00 am

You need to thank http://www.planetwolfenstein.com/tramdesign for this one, there is a way to retrieve a .map file from a bsp, have the files and readme in a rar file if you wish to download then click here.

Using this you can decompile frost, open the map in radiant, and find suitable locations for the items you want, bear in mind, if you want the ammo and health to appear on command map, you are going to need another toi (frost only has a few so you are ok), for fueldump for example, this would not be possible as it already is within its limit of toi (or very near to it), im quite new to mapping, but enjoy the scripting, if you need any help with this then reply here.

Heres a mapscript someone has already made to fix a small bug in frost, you could use this as a template. (always remember to include credits of coders even if you have altered the majority of someone elses code, its also polite to ask first) :
http://images.quakewarsterritory.com/mo ... ite.script

That is a link from this thread which contains many other mapscripts by mortis :
http://bani.anime.net/banimod/forums/vi ... php?t=5932

Hint: to get the coordinates quickly for a location its easy to place a quick light entity, a default key placed in the entity window for a light is an origin key which has 3 values, these are your x,y and z.

Theres some good mapping tutorials if you are stuggling with even the basics, the best yet ive seen is a large tutorial based site with many prefabs and example scripts written by 2bit from the tibet scene, known for a variety of unique scripting techniques, heres his link :
http://www.pythononline.co.uk/et/tutorial.htm

Heres some more links:

http://www.spyjuice.com/ et level design / prefabs / tuts / gfx

http://splashdamage.com/forums/viewforum.php?f=9 forum / et level design / prefabs / tuts / gfx

http://www.planetwolfenstein.com/bubbawolf/ et level design / prefabs / tuts / gfx

http://enemyterritory-stuff.com/modules ... me=Prefabs et level design / prefabs / tuts / gfx / links

http://www.gamedesign-online.com/index.php?menu=Prefabs marko stuff / et level design / prefabs / gfx / links

http://www.wolfensteinx.com/surface/tutorials.html et resource / tuts

http://4newbies.planetwolfenstein.games ... m#projects misc et resources / tuts

http://4newbies.planetwolfenstein.games ... ewbies.pdf scripting guide PDF
www.grow-room.org
etpro - 89.106.68.26:27960
jaymod - 89.106.68.26:27961
T/j - 89.106.68.26:27965
War - 89.106.68.26:27970 (locked)

User avatar
Zeus
Moderator
Posts: 1209
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 3:29 pm
Location: Buffalo NY
Contact:

Post by Zeus » Mon Feb 19, 2007 7:15 pm

Nice post Pokey, thanks for taking the time to link the info, sticky and moved it over to the other info stickys. :wink:

whoosaaa
Server n00b
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 11:58 am

Post by whoosaaa » Sat Jul 26, 2008 4:13 am

Hi

just wanted to share info. Its is possible to add Health Ammo cabs into map with mapscripting.
Code is right here. Wolfwiki

Greets WhooSaaa

Post Reply