Setting Up A Redirect.

Any questions regarding getting Jaymod running.
User avatar
SupremeBeing
Server Pro
Posts: 948
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 1:19 am
Location: Indianapolis, IN, USA
Contact:

Post by SupremeBeing » Fri Oct 06, 2006 5:21 pm

You should NOT repeat NOT use your server's ftp for a redirect. That allows anyone with half a brain to download your server.cfg and get your rcon. And then screw up your server badly. Use Gnomish's hosting or buy your own, either way. Or you could use mine or SupReme's, if you don't have extra files over ours. Clients need the jaymod pk3 and maps and mods. If it's about the cvars, just make sure you left etmain out of the redirect url cvar. If you have one.

Repeat, DO NOT use your ftp as a redirect. =)

Check here to see if I have all the files you need:

loc.flphost.com
There are no stupid questions, only stupid people.

User avatar
[FL]Blindman
Server Pro
Posts: 864
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 3:07 pm
Location: Champlain Valley

Post by [FL]Blindman » Sat Oct 07, 2006 2:21 am

I would think that any .pk3's in the jaymod folder need to go on the redirect site. cfg's have no place there.
In other words, dont put unnecessary files on the server.
Image
Image

User avatar
SupReme
Server Pro
Posts: 1097
Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 2:34 pm
Location: Heemskerk, The Netherlands

Post by SupReme » Sat Oct 07, 2006 2:31 am

OR check my FTP, wac.flphost.com

IF you need some files on it, i dont mind uploading them.
Chatter1: Heya!
Chatter1: You knew there is a whole life behind internet?!
Chatter2: WTF!
Chatter2:...
Chatter2:Link..?

ratf!nk
Server n00b
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 5:37 pm

Post by ratf!nk » Sat Oct 07, 2006 12:55 pm

Im not using my ftp as a redirect, i have a web site, that im using for my redirect.
The starter post just said use the files in ftp, im guessing thats because everything is there.
I was just wondering if i had all the files i needed .
I looked at the 2 links u guys set up and i have everything there and some.
But no cfg's.
Today i took my jaymod folder out of my personal wolf folder and got on my server, it downloaded in like 10 secs at 600k.
So, i have no idea y ppl r giving up, but they sit there for bout a mim or two then give up.
It sucks cause im trying to create a nice jaymod server and ppl connect all day just to disconnect before download is done.


P.S i notice the both of u r using flp host, do they have servers also?
and if so how r they?

User avatar
SupremeBeing
Server Pro
Posts: 948
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 1:19 am
Location: Indianapolis, IN, USA
Contact:

Post by SupremeBeing » Sat Oct 07, 2006 1:24 pm

Flphost is the domain that Gnomish uses for his free redirect giveaways lol.

Just to reiderate, they don't need to be able to download ANY cfgs. That's dangerous, protect those with your life.
Just make sure the pk3 and your mods/skins/sounds/maps are in your redirect and you should be fine.
There are no stupid questions, only stupid people.

User avatar
[FL]Blindman
Server Pro
Posts: 864
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 3:07 pm
Location: Champlain Valley

Post by [FL]Blindman » Sat Oct 07, 2006 8:50 pm

Just a ?, are they large dloads,like more than 25 or 30 meg? Not everyone's windows install is the same, I had a 35 meg soundpack i was messing with, inclusind the campaigns, voice scripts and some odd sounds, but sometimes people would get booted before the dload was finished, maybe had to do with pb, I dont know.
Image
Image

ratf!nk
Server n00b
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 5:37 pm

Post by ratf!nk » Sun Oct 08, 2006 10:58 am

No, nothing big, im only at 15 megs total .
There is just jaymod and another mod and skins.

User avatar
Froob
Arty Whore
Posts: 247
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 7:29 am
Location: England / UK

Post by Froob » Mon Dec 11, 2006 1:58 pm

You guys do domain hosting in any way ?

User avatar
Gnomish
Moderator
Posts: 853
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:08 pm
Location: Long Island, NY
Contact:

Post by Gnomish » Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:39 pm

Froob wrote:You guys do domain hosting in any way ?
I do, for anything as long as it's legal
My nicks:
Gnomish; Ziltoid

User avatar
Froob
Arty Whore
Posts: 247
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 7:29 am
Location: England / UK

Post by Froob » Mon Dec 11, 2006 4:23 pm

Hmm like ?

User avatar
Zeus
Moderator
Posts: 1209
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 3:29 pm
Location: Buffalo NY
Contact:

Post by Zeus » Mon Dec 11, 2006 4:34 pm

Froob wrote:Hmm like ?
He means, he has a webhosting service as long as what you are hosting is legal, no warez or other crap.

User avatar
Duff
Server n00b
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 9:51 pm
Location: Halifax, NS
Contact:

Post by Duff » Tue Dec 12, 2006 3:48 pm

Zeus wrote:
Froob wrote:Hmm like ?
He means, he has a webhosting service as long as what you are hosting is legal, no warez or other crap.
Yeah, pretty much...we don't mind anything aside from warez / child porn / obviously illegal shit.

timetokill
Spawn Camper
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 2:30 pm

Post by timetokill » Sun Dec 31, 2006 3:50 pm

just a couple of questions.... first of all i have a filefront page could i set that as my redirect, second of all if it's a site like turkeyfiles or something do i just end it with a .net, and finally can u tell me if these redirects are good or which 1 is better to use?


set sv_wwwDownload "1" // toggle to enable web download
set sv_wwwBaseURL "http://turkeyfiles.escapedturkey.net/en ... ry/etmain/" // base URL for redirection
set sv_wwwDlDisconnected "0" // tell clients to perform their downloads while disconnected from the server
set sv_wwwFallbackURL "" // URL to send to if an http/ftp fails or is refused client side


set sv_wwwDownload "1" // toggle to enable web download
set sv_wwwBaseURL "http://hosted.filefront.com/TheATDClan/" // base URL for redirection
set sv_wwwDlDisconnected "0" // tell clients to perform their downloads while disconnected from the server
set sv_wwwFallbackURL "" // URL to send to if an http/ftp fails or is refused client side


ive used the first 1 b4 with ending with .net not the rest cause that's wt someone told me, but every tiem when someone trys to download something it automatically turns off the server.

User avatar
Gnomish
Moderator
Posts: 853
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:08 pm
Location: Long Island, NY
Contact:

Post by Gnomish » Sun Dec 31, 2006 4:10 pm

timetokill wrote:set sv_wwwDownload "1" // toggle to enable web download
set sv_wwwBaseURL "http://turkeyfiles.escapedturkey.net/en ... ry/etmain/" // base URL for redirection
set sv_wwwDlDisconnected "0" // tell clients to perform their downloads while disconnected from the server
set sv_wwwFallbackURL "" // URL to send to if an http/ftp fails or is refused client side
Is incorrect. The base URL should be http://turkeyfiles.escapedturkey.net/enemy-territory.

You can use both, just set the other one to the fallback URL
My nicks:
Gnomish; Ziltoid

timetokill
Spawn Camper
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 2:30 pm

Post by timetokill » Mon Jan 01, 2007 1:07 pm

thx gnomish but if i dont set a fallback url with it just load it from my etmain or jaymod folder or w/e like it originally does if u dont set up a re-direct.

Post Reply