How to Set Up a Jaymod Server

Any questions regarding getting Jaymod running.
Post Reply
User avatar
V-Dawg
Panzer n00b
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 1:53 am
Location: Virginia Beach
Contact:

How to Set Up a Jaymod Server

Post by V-Dawg » Thu Aug 10, 2006 10:30 pm

I figured I’d do my community service by writing a much-needed manual on how to setup a server for anyone who’s new to it. This tutorial is going to be Windows-specific, step-by-step and straight forward, and is mainly intended for someone who has never set up a server before but familiar with how to use ET. You might find it helpful to print this out.

=====**=====

Setting up a basic Jaymod server is VERY easy, but configuring the .cfg files can take a lot of time, so you’ll have to be patient, and follow along with the Jaymod documentation. Everything you really need to know about Jaymod is in there, and if you take the time to read it you’ll have a better understanding of how all the features and commands work.

The first thing you want to do is find a game server host that fits your needs, and make sure you have access to the ET command line (which the server host will provide) and FTP.

Download your preferred version of Jaymod at http://www.jaymod.clanfu.org/download.php and unzip its contents into a folder.

================================
I. Configuration files
================================

1. Server.cfg

This is the file that will hold the basic configuration for the server itself. You can download a sample .cfg from the link below and edit the variables as needed. All the variables are explained in the file itself:


http://www.v-nessa.net/et/server.cfg


One thing you need to know about is BITFLAGGED variables. These are variables that you have to add together. For instance, ice cream = 1, sex = 2, and candy = 4. If you want ice cream and candy, you would put “5” as your value. If you just want sex, you would use “2.” These show up a lot in the Jaymod config. Not ice cream, candy, and sex, but you know what I mean

Notice the two lines at the end of server.cfg:

“exec maprotation.cfg” refers to the file that contains the order of the maps. If this line is missing or incorrect, your server will hang! i.e. “Awaiting Connection….1…..2….3…………35………..100”

“exec jaymod.cfg” is required in order to load Jaymod. If it’s not there, stock ET will load.

Also, there’s a place in the file where you can specify where users can download files from the server. If you have custom maps and you’re using Jaymod, you’ll need to allow your players to download the maps and Jaymod client. Unfortunately, ET runs an incredibly SLOW download speed, so you have to set up a redirect. Redirects can be tricky, but if you search the forums you’ll find many posts on how to configure them.


2. Jaymod.cfg

Inside the Jaymod folder, you’ll see “jaymod.cfg-sample.” Rename it to “jaymod.cfg and open it in a text editor. This is where you’ll configure all the Jaymod-specific features that you want on your server. It is VERY important that you follow along with the included documentation, because every variable in the jaymod.cfg file is explained clearly to help you avoid any problems with configuration. This will take some time to set up.


3. Shrubbot.cfg

The shrubbot.cfg file is the self-updating file that specifies your admin levels and permissions, as well as who the admins are and what they can do. The flags and config for shrubbot.cfg are explained on pages 39, 40, and 41 of the documentation. Download a basic one from here and modify it to your needs:

http://www.v-nessa.net/et/shrubbot.cfg

For more detailed information, see this post:

http://jaymod.clanfu.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=3084

Put this in your Jaymod folder.

3. Maprotation.cfg

For the purpose of simplicity, we’re going to set up a single-map objective server using a file we’ll name “maprotation.cfg.” First, you need to figure out what maps you want on your server, gather them up, and put them in their own folder on your desktop, for now. Download this utility:

http://www.v-nessa.net/et/maprotation.zip

Run the utility and add all the maps from the folder you just made, then save the file as “maprotation.cfg.”

Note: When you download maps, avoid changing the .pk3 file name, because that name usually reflects the name of the .bsp map file located inside…and a mismatch can cause problems!

==================================
II. Command Line
==================================

Now you have to set up your command line. This is how a basic command line should look, with most the “set” commands already having been added to server.cfg:

Code: Select all

\...\ETDED.exe +set com_hunkmegs 128 +set fs_game jaymod +set sv_punkbuster 1 +exec server.cfg
The “fs_game jaymod” specifies where the mod files are located. That would be your Jaymod folder. “Exec server.cfg” tells the server to read server.cfg before actually running the server.

===================================
III. Upload Files
===================================

This is the easiest part, as long as you put the files where the server can find them. For the sake of this tutorial we’ll follow the standard rules, but you’ll realize there are many other ways to organize your files.

1. Start by opening your FTP utility to the root of the ET installation. This is the folder that contains ET.exe, ETDED.exe and maybe a few other files and folders. Create two folders: ‘etmain’ and ‘jaymod’ (if they aren’t there already). For simplicity, try to keep everything here lowercase.

2. Upload all your maps to the ‘etmain’ folder.

3. Put the ‘server.cfg’ and ‘maprotation.cfg’ files in the ‘etmain’ folder.

4. Upload ALL the Jaymod files into the ‘jaymod’ folder on the server, including ‘shrubbot.cfg’ and ‘jaymod.cfg’

Some people here will argue that these files should go elsewhere, and they can, but this type of installation is proven to work without difficulty. Once you get more experienced you can start moving shit around.

=====================================
IV. First Run
=====================================

Now that you have all your files up, it’s time to run the server for the first time. You may have to keep going back to change the configs as needed, and you’ll probably have a few problems. To start the server, you should have an option (usually where you find the command line) to Start/Stop the server. Stop the server first, if it isn’t already, then start it up again. Your game should now load Jaymod and execute the first map in your map cycle.

If you're not sure whether Jaymod is running (which you should!), you can always hit your ESC key in game and look for the colorful Jaymod menu.

Next you need to make yourself an admin. Remember the RCON password you set up in server.cfg? You need that to log in to RCON. Bring down your console with the ~ key and type:

Code: Select all

/rconpassword <password>
then

Code: Select all

/rcon setlevel <player> <level>
You should now be able to use the admin commands for your level as specified in your shrubbot.cfg!

====================================

And that’s pretty much it! A few notes though:

- Capt. Obvious: If you change a config file on your computer, don't forget to re-upload it to the server.

- If you make a major change to a config file and you don't see it take effect, try /exec filename.cfg in the console or restart the server. Some changes actually do require a restart, though.

- You can use RCON to re-set just about every CVAR in your config files. There's ‘set’ or ‘seta’. ‘set’ is temporary, while ‘seta’ will write that value to the configs, thus permanent.

- RCON sets follow this format:

Code: Select all

/set <variable> <value>

i.e.  /set g_speed “500” 
- Here’s a list of RCON commands: http://www.digitalservers.co.uk/etrcon.html

- Most every shrubbot command can be done silently in RCON, regardless of your set admin permissions. For instance, ‘!ban v-dawg’ would be ‘/rcon ban v-dawg’. ‘!listplayers’ would be ‘/rcon listplayers’. You don’t need the ‘!’ when using admin commands through the console.

- Getting shrubbot to work can be tricky at times. Some people prefer to start their server without one, because Jaymod will auto-generate its own shrubbot.cfg if there isn't one already. Then all you have to do is open, edit, upload, then restart the server. Keep in mind that Jaymod auto-configures two levels: 1 and 0. 0 = no powers, 1 = all powers. You can easily RCON yourself to level 1.

Also, the shrubbot.cfg updates itself when new admins are set in-game, so you never really need to edit shrubbot.cfg unless you want to change permissions of a particular admin.

- IMPORTANT: If you want your shrubbot and XP save to work properly, you MUST have Punkbuster enabled. These features use a GUID identification system that only PB provides. This is set in the command line as

Code: Select all

 +set sv_punkbuster 1
As you learn more about servers you’ll be able to add configs, campaigns, etc. You WILL encounter problems at first, which is ok. Please read the documentation and search the Jaymod forums for solutions BEFORE asking questions. Chances are if you're having a problem, it's been posted here before.

Good luck, bitches.

V-Dawg

If anyone has corrections for this post, PM me
Last edited by V-Dawg on Fri Mar 02, 2007 12:12 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image

User avatar
_InMortal_
Server n00b
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 11:47 am

Post by _InMortal_ » Fri Sep 29, 2006 8:30 am

How long it takes when i exec server.cfg?

User avatar
V-Dawg
Panzer n00b
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 1:53 am
Location: Virginia Beach
Contact:

Post by V-Dawg » Sat Oct 07, 2006 1:34 am

if run from the startup command line it should run automatically unless you have your config files wrong
Image

gcwizard
Server n00b
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 7:13 pm

Post by gcwizard » Sat Oct 14, 2006 6:46 pm

thx for all ur help!

but does this walkthrough apply to 2.55 as well??

oh and wat is a "guid"?, because the shrubbot asks about them wen u want to make a player a specific admin level.

User avatar
jman7071
Arty Whore
Posts: 248
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 11:15 am

Post by jman7071 » Sat Oct 14, 2006 7:44 pm

2.55 is not segjested to run jaymod on and if u have any problems everyone here will yell at you and tell you to upgrade lmao i would know right guys xD

anyway... a guid is a spacific ID that evryone has this can be found by using the !finger (name|pid) command

you reeally odnt need to setup admin through this... just setup the levels for yourself so say you got lvl 1-12 and you got all your flags ect. setup then uplaod it to your FTP... then restart your server. go to your server and sign into remot admin using the password you set in your server.cfg using this command in your concel /rconpassword (password) then /rcon !setlevel (yourname) (lvl u want) then u got admin.. to give others admin use the !setlevel (name) (lvl) no need to use rcon once you have it. if you have any ?'s about jaymod or whatever u can xfire me at Jman7071 or my MSN jman7071@hotmail.com also if you need any 2.55 help do the same.. :D

Hope this helped

Bullet

gcwizard
Server n00b
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 7:13 pm

Post by gcwizard » Sat Oct 14, 2006 8:42 pm

wow uve been the most help so far (apart from v-dawg) thx man!

i just hate my game server host! the uploads arent working, files dont show up, theres no et command line. the game panal is shit. i rekon i woulda had jaymod up in a few hours if it werent for optical-hosting.com. they are the worst game server hosts ever. i have sent them multiple messages in desperate need of help, NONE have been replied to. they may have cheap servers, but there service and everyhting else is shit.

i advise u to never ever go to www.optical-hosting.com

wow im glad to have gotten that of my chest!

hey i got the same site domain as u rofl, go to www.ghost-clan.co.nr

User avatar
jman7071
Arty Whore
Posts: 248
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 11:15 am

Post by jman7071 » Sun Oct 15, 2006 11:21 am

clanservers.com

they offer 2.60 and 2.55 and a free website and cheeper TS's or Ventrillo if needed i think its half off

all you have to do is order it and its instant activation then you just click on your control pannel install mod select jaymod 2.0.2 and your set... over all i am happy with clanservers they have screwed up royally though but over all there pritty good.

User avatar
V-Dawg
Panzer n00b
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 1:53 am
Location: Virginia Beach
Contact:

Post by V-Dawg » Sun Oct 15, 2006 12:53 pm

heh notice my truancy lately :roll:

as jman said, the guid is a user-unique key assigned by punkbuster to each player. jaymod uses this key as an identifier for admin levels and xp save...fortunately the !setlevel <player> <level> feature will automatically create an entry in the shrubbot for each player you set. stop trying to do shit the hard way 8)
Image

User avatar
jman7071
Arty Whore
Posts: 248
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 11:15 am

Post by jman7071 » Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:56 pm

^^^^
she makes way more sence then i will ever hope too

lmao

User avatar
SupremeBeing
Server Pro
Posts: 948
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 1:19 am
Location: Indianapolis, IN, USA
Contact:

Post by SupremeBeing » Sun Oct 15, 2006 4:42 pm

Why the frequent absence V-Dawg?
There are no stupid questions, only stupid people.

gcwizard
Server n00b
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 7:13 pm

Post by gcwizard » Sun Oct 15, 2006 5:27 pm

at least ur right about sumthin.

thx guys, i got jaymod working, i had shotgunz and all. but then i changed the server info and i lost jaymod. i probly overwrited wen i was uploading. ANYWAY thats not ur problem its mine, and i should have it fixed in about 15mins cause im reuploading everything.

thx guys. if u hadnt of made that walkthrough v-dawg, i would never have figured out how to put jaymod onto my server. thx.

(-GC-)Wiz|arD


Dont forget to go to http://www.ghost-clan.co.nr[/url]

doa
Arty Whore
Posts: 210
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 9:09 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Contact:

Post by doa » Thu Oct 19, 2006 2:00 am

Thanks very much for your guide V-Dawg - it really helped me get Jaymod up and running on my home PC :D

Not worthy! Not Worthy! :wink:

User avatar
V-Dawg
Panzer n00b
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 1:53 am
Location: Virginia Beach
Contact:

Post by V-Dawg » Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:16 pm

Why the frequent absence V-Dawg?
im just so damn busy latey :roll:


and glad it helped, ladies. now i can have jaybird all to myself 8)
Image

Help
Spawn Camper
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 4:29 pm

Post by Help » Mon Oct 30, 2006 6:17 pm

v dawg im trying to get my server running on internet.. i put dedicated to 2 and ive opened ports on my router...it still doesn't work im wondering if u could help.

User avatar
V-Dawg
Panzer n00b
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 1:53 am
Location: Virginia Beach
Contact:

Post by V-Dawg » Tue Oct 31, 2006 10:47 pm

youre gonna have to supply more info.... such as exactly what is happening, server cfgs, etc.
Image

Post Reply