How to Set Up a Jaymod Server

Any questions regarding getting Jaymod running.
User avatar
[FL]Blindman
Server Pro
Posts: 864
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 3:07 pm
Location: Champlain Valley

Post by [FL]Blindman » Sun Feb 25, 2007 2:04 am

Would help if there was more then litterally just me in the channel first...
It's just me and Chanserv. Which even that splits out from time to time. We do get other people for a couple of minutes, but they don't talk and leave quite fast.
Must be your charming personality. teehee......:P Just messin wit ya. I would but I get the impression I either talk too much or don't know what I'm talking about.
Image
Image

pokeybit
Panzer n00b
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 12:35 pm

Post by pokeybit » Sun Feb 25, 2007 2:14 am

pudd wrote:i already have something to host files... filexoom.com... but how does he find the username/password and all of that so i can access the ftp? the program im using all it needs to know is the ip and port, but i dont know if the ip i need to use is from the server or from his computer, and the port i cant figure out.
oO

i have no idea how hes going to find the password and username of the ftp account, tbh he should have wrote them down somewhere secure or memorized them. whoever set it up will have these, why is he running the server if he doesnt know what an ftp password is?
www.grow-room.org
etpro - 89.106.68.26:27960
jaymod - 89.106.68.26:27961
T/j - 89.106.68.26:27965
War - 89.106.68.26:27970 (locked)

pudd
Server n00b
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 12:52 am

Post by pudd » Sun Feb 25, 2007 12:49 pm

he set it up through the host game button in the game. does it tell you the password/username there?

pokeybit
Panzer n00b
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 12:35 pm

Post by pokeybit » Mon Feb 26, 2007 3:02 am

its not going to work really using that method. the FTP is a seperate thing all together. i suggest you set the whole thing up yourself. read a guide on how to start your own server, did you read the begining post?, heres another guide for et in general: http://www.rtcw.jolt.co.uk/content/enem ... index.html

bear in mind, if you run a server from home the maximum players you can have on your server based on the highest UK domestic connection would be 6 players. look into renting a server already set up. or supporting a freinds server to get admin, and to learn some basics. have a think before paying for a server m8, if you have a group of pals who are going to play there, then yeah , otherwise you may be disapointed when noone joins for the first few weeks. good luck
www.grow-room.org
etpro - 89.106.68.26:27960
jaymod - 89.106.68.26:27961
T/j - 89.106.68.26:27965
War - 89.106.68.26:27970 (locked)

User avatar
V-Dawg
Panzer n00b
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 1:53 am
Location: Virginia Beach
Contact:

Post by V-Dawg » Fri Mar 02, 2007 12:04 am

he set it up through the host game button in the game. does it tell you the password/username there?

i think you and your buddy need to be slapped with a giant cluestick as you shouldnt be trying to administer a server if you dont even know your basics. ftp is used to transfer files from one machine to another, so why would he need ftp if he is running a server locally from his machine...where his files already are?


http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File_Transfer_Protocol
Image

pokeybit
Panzer n00b
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 12:35 pm

Post by pokeybit » Fri Mar 02, 2007 3:13 am

V-Dawg wrote:
he set it up through the host game button in the game. does it tell you the password/username there?

i think you and your buddy need to be slapped with a giant cluestick as you shouldnt be trying to administer a server if you dont even know your basics. ftp is used to transfer files from one machine to another, so why would he need ftp if he is running a server locally from his machine...where his files already are?


http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File_Transfer_Protocol
dont beat around the bush hun, tell him straight :P
www.grow-room.org
etpro - 89.106.68.26:27960
jaymod - 89.106.68.26:27961
T/j - 89.106.68.26:27965
War - 89.106.68.26:27970 (locked)

User avatar
V-Dawg
Panzer n00b
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 1:53 am
Location: Virginia Beach
Contact:

Post by V-Dawg » Fri Mar 02, 2007 1:23 pm

*chuckle*
Image

Z3R0
Server n00b
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 3:56 pm

Post by Z3R0 » Sun Mar 04, 2007 4:19 pm

How do you create a startup script?

User avatar
Zeus
Moderator
Posts: 1209
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 3:29 pm
Location: Buffalo NY
Contact:

Post by Zeus » Sun Mar 04, 2007 4:29 pm

What your looking for is the "command line" which is page 1 of this thread under Command Line.

Z3R0
Server n00b
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 3:56 pm

Post by Z3R0 » Sun Mar 04, 2007 4:35 pm

annoyingly i still don't get it...

where do i have to put the code?
what should the code exactly be?

User avatar
V-Dawg
Panzer n00b
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 1:53 am
Location: Virginia Beach
Contact:

Post by V-Dawg » Sun Mar 04, 2007 7:52 pm

whoever you rent your server through should have provided you with a command line for the server startup...you may want to ask them
Image

Z3R0
Server n00b
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 3:56 pm

Post by Z3R0 » Mon Mar 05, 2007 1:29 pm

well i've nearly finished setting up my jaymod stuff... but it comes up with this error message..:

Image

User avatar
[FL]Blindman
Server Pro
Posts: 864
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 3:07 pm
Location: Champlain Valley

Post by [FL]Blindman » Mon Mar 05, 2007 3:40 pm

That would seem to indicate that the mod isn't installed correctly.
Image
Image

User avatar
SupReme
Server Pro
Posts: 1097
Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 2:34 pm
Location: Heemskerk, The Netherlands

Post by SupReme » Tue Mar 06, 2007 2:42 am

Maybe an corrupt file, download jaymod again, and replace the files
Chatter1: Heya!
Chatter1: You knew there is a whole life behind internet?!
Chatter2: WTF!
Chatter2:...
Chatter2:Link..?

User avatar
V-Dawg
Panzer n00b
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 1:53 am
Location: Virginia Beach
Contact:

hahah

Post by V-Dawg » Mon Mar 19, 2007 12:58 am

you gotta see this...some idiot just ripped off my tutorial, and didnt even bother to change the links:

http://cheatersutopia.com/smforum/index ... pic=1413.0
Image

Post Reply